26
Sep
07

10. My Latest VA Appointment READ THIS IMPORTANT

Ok WanderingVets: Kudos to Mr. Bush (who went above and beyond for me) and the Red Team at the VA Hospital
I dragged my homeless self to the VA today for a checkup. Since my VA ID says HOMELESS for address the attending physician felt compelled to make me see their social worker there in the hospital there. Now I have been through this before at another VA hospital, but did not want to break this doctors heart since he is a young doc and is saving the world, so I went along with it. Now me and and this cagey social worker were looking across the desk from each other and I said “All you have to offer me is a bed in a place full of crack heads and court ordereds right?” and she said “Oh you have been through this this before-huh?” and I said “yeah but I am just making the doctor happy.” The other place I was offered was a 14 day lock down at some work house with forced religious services. We left it at that. Incarcerated inmates have more civil rights than a homeless veteran. Listen Homeless Veterans, do not expect help from social services or the veterans administration for anything other than medical assistance. You have to provide for yourselves. You have to make it happen!

3 Responses to “10. My Latest VA Appointment READ THIS IMPORTANT”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    September 27, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    One of the problems with the medical treatment for seriously ill veterans is the turn around times for followup care. Sometimes follup care is longer than thirty days for things like MRI’s etc. That is a long time for homeless to be in one area for a 30 minute procedure. This is problematic on both sides of the coin.

  2. 2 Mike
    October 19, 2009 at 1:26 am

    Also don’t miss any appointments if possible without calling a day in advance since this can really screw you over. You may lose your current doctor and if you’ve been working on mental/physical issues for a long time with one doctor it’s a real pain to have to do it all over. Mike

  3. 3 Nik
    March 30, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    So . . . . what WOULD be helpful from the Social Worker in that situation?????


Leave a Reply

Contact The Authors For Inquiries or Assistance At

Wanderingvet@wanderingvets.com AnAmerican@wanderingvets.com

Spread The Word

Rate Me on BlogHop.com!
the best pretty good okay pretty bad the worst help?

Categories

website tracker

Visitors to Wanderingvets

  • 162,824

