01
Oct
07

18. The Job Search

Ok Wanderingvets:
The homeless job search is not a difficult thing when you are homeless. First thing you do is get an address. For me it is wherever I am camping at. I just find the nearest mailboxes and make up a number in between and use it. Most places now a days let you use email to send in a resume so it is faster. I recommend strongly having a cell phone no matter what area code it is. I call employers and tell them I am visiting the area for a few days and would like to talk with them.

Secondly, dressing for interview. since you are in the area for a few days this covers for informal dress. I carry a tie and an oxford in a Ziploc bag for interviews. Sometimes I carry my pack with me but explain I have a flight this afternoon and have just checked out of my hotel and had a cab drop me off along the way…LYING IS OK TO GET A JOB!

Have plenty of references, I did not tell everyone I became a homeless native back east. Actually no one knows. It was not something I broadcasted to all of my former friends and employers so my references are great. They must think I am just on a west coast swing reviving my health. Homelessness is not being king of the road, it is also finding a job and getting back on your feet!

3 Responses to “18. The Job Search”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    October 9, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    I was wondering–if you are homeless how do you write this blog on the computer? What conflict are you a veteran of and what unit?

  2. 2 wanderingvet
    October 10, 2007 at 12:33 am

    Hello Friend. I guess you have not read my other postings such as http://wanderingvets.blogspot.com/2007/09/internet.html where I have covered this issue previously. As far as my service eras Can be seen at the bottom of the screen in the contributors section. My era of service though was the years of 1983 to 1994 if that will help you and I enlisted as a Private E-1 and left the United States Army as a First Lieutenant having served in both the Corps of Engineers and the Field Artillery proudly.

  3. 3 Anonymous
    October 10, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    Thank you for your reply. This was the first time I had come across you blog. Again, Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Contact The Authors For Inquiries or Assistance At

Wanderingvet@wanderingvets.com AnAmerican@wanderingvets.com

Spread The Word

Rate Me on BlogHop.com!
the best pretty good okay pretty bad the worst help?

Categories

website tracker

Visitors to Wanderingvets

  • 162,811

