14
Apr
08

140. In Search Of Missing and Homeless Veterans

I have been thinking for months regarding this subject. I have read an account in Georgia where a mother has been cruising the highways looking for her son who is a veteran and has been missing for months. The other day I received this comment to a post I wrote on Operation Stand Down in Huntsville, Alabama…

I was the Plt Sgt of Alabamian, Solomon Smith, in Vietnam. Searching for him for several yrs. Mr Smith is an African American, and would be in his late 50s or early 60s. Don’t know if he is homeless but if you have record of him being so, I will be able to help him. Solomon has a Plt of 40 “Brothers” who are waiting to see him again and he will have all the support he needs. Please let me know if you have any info on a Solomon Smith. Thank you. John J Weiss, US Army Retired
janzpad@hotmail.com

This comment has made me finally get around to something I have been wanting or meaning to do for a long, long time. I have now created a page on this site where Agencies (State, Federal, Nonprofits and Charities), Families, and Friends can post and look for those friends and loved ones that are homeless and or missing.

The new page is http://wanderingvets.com/homeless-missing-veteran-search-page/

Hopefully this new page will assist in reuniting loved ones, as well as aiding Homeless Veterans in ending their tours of homelessness by reuniting agencies to their clients, families to loved ones, as well as the vets who have thought they have just been “written off”. Thank you John J. Weiss for your compassion.

Wanderingvet

3 Responses to “140. In Search Of Missing and Homeless Veterans”


  1. April 14, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    What a wonderful way to not only “support our troops” who have gone MIA in their homelessness, but providing a method for their families to try locating them.

    4 Gold Stars

  2. 2 Adam
    April 15, 2008 at 6:49 am

    I also heard of a website http://www.vetfriends.com where you can search for old military or veteran buddies. This may not help in locating homeless vets but if you get in contact with someone from that lost person’s unit, they may be able to tell you where they last saw them

  3. 3 Tim
    July 18, 2008 at 11:18 am

    I run a flea market here in Ft.Smith,AR and recently came across an I.D.
    bracelet like the kind that was popular in the 70’s that has the name of a
    missing veteran on it,the appx. date and the area he was last in.I would like to either try to locate him or his family and if approporate to return this braclet to them.I was hoping that you might aim me in the right direction to an agency that might have that information.I am VERY curious to see if this missing vet. was ever found.If he was I’d bet he’d love to know that some one cared enough to wear/carry this bracelet and after all this time to have it in his hands as a keepsake….
    Thanks very much for any help you may provide in helping me solve this missing piece of history…

    I had the sad news that the bracelet he had that the veteran he had, U.S.Army Capt.Dale W. Richardson MIA 05/02/1970 Cambodia, never returned.

    -W-


Leave a Reply

Contact The Authors For Inquiries or Assistance At

Wanderingvet@wanderingvets.com AnAmerican@wanderingvets.com

Spread The Word

Rate Me on BlogHop.com!
the best pretty good okay pretty bad the worst help?

Categories

website tracker

Visitors to Wanderingvets

  • 162,325

